Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Minehead/Butlins Gossip

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    barryislandfan Guest

Default Minehead/Butlins Gossip

Well as I said I was lucky enough to get a chat with one of the resort managers at Minehead NOT the top resort manager of course but one of his deputies. It all came about after I asked for access to the Beachcomber and Sunsplash, he came out to explain why I couldnt and I then told him I was a writer, doing an article on Butlins (thats not really a lie, I write about Butlins all the time ) and he said we could have a chat, he was really nice but I did say I wouldnt name him as its not fair, although he obviously didnt say anything against Butlins. I asked him a couple of questions and then we just chatted for a bit in general about Butlins past, present and future.

First off, although Butlins is of course owned by Bourne Leisure, Bourne as a company have nothing to do with the day to day running of Butlins. That goes to Butlins Skyline Ltd. Its a bit like Woolworths, Comet, MVC, Superdrug etc they are all owned by one group but have different management teams etc and are run independantly from each other. Butlins is not linked financially to Haven or Warners and its unlikely Butlins ever will be. Haven Holidays and Warners are also run as 2 seperate companies. Of course all the money Butlins make is money for Bourne but its Butlins management not Bourne who make all the big decisions about the business. Saying that Haven/British Holidays do cross over to Butlins for training etc.